sage Carl Gregg: The claim that Christianity holds sufficient truth for salvation does not mean that it has to hold that truth exclusively. This revelation became particularly real for me when I realized, for example, that Mohatma Ghandhi (a Hindu) and Thich Nhat Hanh (a Buddhist) come closer to the Jesus truth, the Jesus way, and the Jesus life than most of the Christians I know, including myself. As I have continued to wrestle with the reality of religious pluralism, I have found the following two short sayings helpful. First, theologian Huston Smith says that God is “defined by Jesus, not confined to Jesus.” Second, Episcopal Bishop John Shelby Spong has said, “I walk the Christ-path into the mystery of God, but I do not believe that God is a Christian.” The common core to both of these slogans is that one can affirm the validity of other religious traditions without abandoning Christianity. The questions I ask myself today are: Am I living the Jesus truth? Am I living the Jesus way? Am I living the Jesus life?

*

http://www.bing.com/images/search?q=images+bible+john+14%3a6&qpvt=images+bible+john+14%3a6&FORM=IGRE#view=detail&id=6B274A937B1ED9D0FDD0A17E90C77120F0EC7EBD&selectedIndex=482

*

*

*

http://www.patheos.com/blogs/carlgregg/2011/05/lectionary-commentary-%e2%80%9ca-progressive-christian-reading-of-john-146%e2%80%9d-for-sunday-may-22-2011/

*

Part of what Jesus was doing was offering comfort to Thomas: “Don’t worry, Thomas.  You know me. When I’m gone, just continue to ‘do the works that I do.’ Follow the path I have set forth with my life, and you’ll be following the way.”  So perhaps I wasn’t so wrong all those years ago to find comfort in John 14. But Jesus’ instruction doesn’t end there.  Included in Jesus’ pastoral assurance is the challenge to keep on following the way of Jesus even when it’s difficult.  The best summation I’ve seen of this perspective is by the pastor, writer, and spiritual director Eugene Peterson.  Peterson encapsulates Jesus’ point in John 14 by saying, “Only when we do the Jesus truth in the Jesus way do we get the Jesus life.” Isolating only the so-called “Jesus truth” yields a disembodied orthodoxy: all the right words with no behavior to make the words believable.  More important is the “Jesus Way” of loving God and loving neighbor.

*

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

