C-Span’s Brian Lamb: Amanda Terkel, do you go into a rage? Terkel: No, I don’t go into a rage. I get worked up. I get – I’m passionate about the news and politics and – but I’m not like that. There’re a lot of issues that people care about and you know hopefully, when we highlight those things you know some feeling comes through. I don’t think journalism should be so removed and so distant and you know necessarily if – I mean if a side is wrong or if a side is lying, I think they should be called out. I don’t think that they should be given equal time with the truth. So you know I think – so hopefully that comes across in the writing.

*

journalist Amanda Terkel is a former Korea orphan adopted by Jewish dad/Christian mom  — est. age 32   —

*

http://www.q-and-a.org/Transcript/?ProgramID=1460

*

*

Amanda Terkel was born in Korea and raised in upstate New York. She graduated
magna cum laude, from Colgate University with a B.A. in political science in
2004. She worked as a researcher and editor for the Center for American Progress
and its blog thinkprogress.org. She has been in her current position at the
Huffington Post, Washington, DC bureau since 2010.

*

Our guest is Amanda Terkel, the senior political reporter and politics managing
editor at the Huffington Post. She discusses her recent appearance at the
Netroots Nation Annual Conference. She spoke on a panel titled “Political
Opponents Caught on Tape.” She provides examples of politicians who have had to
account for their controversial remarks, often captured on video and shown on
the Huffington Post website, among others. She cites the infamous “47 percent”
video of 2012 Presidential candidate Mitt Romney as an example of the type of
video which can influence the public opinion of a politician. Terkel talks about
her transition from progressive blogger at the Center for American Progress to
her current job as a Huffington Post reporter. She discusses the Huffington
Post’s strategy in covering politics, and speaks to how exciting it is to be
reporting on today’s political environment. She describes growing up as an
adopted child born in Korea and raised in a small upstate New York town by a
Christian mother and a Jewish father. She suggests that this has given her a
unique perspective on covering political issues. She explains why she moved into
the field of journalism and what got her interested in politics early in her
life.

*

*

*

the confusing Terkel Rage  fiasco   —

LAMB: You have a Twitter account and a Facebook account; any other besides Huffington Post that you communicate with people?

TERKEL: I – Twitter, Facebook and e-mail and my stories are pretty much the main ways.

LAMB: Who is behind Amanda Rage Terkel?

TERKEL: I was wondering if you would bring that up. TerkelRage is a parody Twitter account started by some of my friends, so it’s a friendly parody account, but it’s – I think it’s hilarious. I think they do a very good job. It has nothing to do with me. It’s just a – sort of a crazy, fake person who’s always angry at everything.

LAMB: And they seem to love to use a lot of language in there. I mean …

TERKEL: Yes. You probably can’t read it all on air.

LAMB: Well, I can. I mean I can – where the F is this baby is one I’m just looking at.

TERKEL: About the royal baby.

LAMB: About the royal baby. Just spoke to the royal baby. It wants to tell you that you’re unloved and should F-ing die. I mean what – is – and you know the people that are doing this.

TERKEL: I do.

LAMB: Do you like them using your name?

TERKEL: It’s fine. I knew when they were starting it. I knew when they were starting it. They pulled my picture; I said that was fine and it’s honestly been hilarious. I have a lot of people now who refer to me Terkel Rage. A lot of – I’ve had a couple people who actually think that’s my real Twitter account; have to tell them that’s not actually me. I’m not angry all the time.

LAMB: Well, I – when I looked at it, I said this – she must be behind it …

TERKEL: No. Not behind it. But it’s very – it’s very clever and angry.

LAMB: You want to tell us who’s doing it?

TERKEL: I can’t. No, it’s a secret.

*

*

*

*

*

http://itouchmap.com/?r=googleearth&ml=19.725&mg=-155.09944&mt=Hilo%20High%20School%2C%20United%20States

*

The last remnant of century-old paved Waianuenue St. has now been uncovered via the cleared vacant lot above Hilo High School.   The old road remnant runs west/mauka as today’s Kahema St.

*

*

*

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

